Saving JPEG files

kenri_basar1

<p>Does saving JPEG files in smaller size than than the maximum camera MP capacity makes it look better for online sharing?<br>

Total noob here. I was thinking along the line of compress and imagining megapixels in a tighter smaller frame.</p>

<p>Thank you.</p>

Downsizing by a factor of 2 will hide imperfections. But it will also hide positive qualities.<br>JPEG compression also does not help to maintain image quality, so do not compress too much.<br>On the other hand, if a x by y pixel image is required for whatever, you can indeed downsize to x by y pixels because it will then happen sooner or later anyway.

<p>I usually save my originals in Raw form and then use a program to downsize them as needed, in bulk. I don't think downsizing makes a file look better, but it usually does not make it worse, if you're viewing on line and not cropping or magnifying. Some programs re-apply the JPG compression at each save, so if you're going to resize, I'd do it all at once from the original for each instance. If your image needs sharpening, it also often helps to do that after the resize. </p>

<p>There are three options.</p>

<p>First one is to resize image to smaller pixel dimensions and smaller size, which is the traditional way, it saves storage size, reduces network load, reduces end user processing time and quality remains allways in control, in a way, that what You post online, enduser sees similarly, but the picture does not always fill the sceen or be suitable for printing. Some displays show image favorably and some no so. This is also good way to prevent image theft. IIRC photo.net gallery demands images to be smaller or equal of 720 pixels long side and size under 100kB, which in practice can mean jpeg image quality 60 for square format. </p>