D800 - mark on sensor

archaeoImages

<p>Just noticed a "spot" on pictures from my D800, only shows up against a plain background (usually sky). Appears to be only one & as it occurs whilst using different lenses I assume it must be dirt on the sensor. Example attached (the inset is at 100%).</p>

<p>As I'm new to Nikon digital cameras just looking for some advice - how easy is it to deal with a sensor clean oneself or is it advisable to send it for a professional clean.</p>

<p>Any advice would be appreciated.</p>

<p>Martyn</p><div>00cjVj-550071884.jpg.febd5c5d1eb003fb33e4670b32cd6609.jpg</div>

The most difficult thing about sensor cleaning is getting over the fear of sensor cleaning. There are

basically two styles, dry cleaning and wet cleaning. Dry cleaning generally requires a blower (don't use

compressed air) and a brush. Wet cleaning uses swabs with a cleaning liquid. Common practice is to try

dry cleaning first then wet cleaning if that doesn't do the trick. The only expensive thing that you might

want to have is a something that magnifies the sensor to see where the dust/smudges are (you can use a

flashlight and a magnifying glass for this if you don't want to buy a sensor loupe; you can also check your

progress by taking shots on a clean background until you get everything). The rest of the stuff is pretty

cheap. There are plenty of videos around on the details. BTW, it looks like you have a second spot just to

the right of your box. It's much smaller and this is more typical of what I tend to get.

Good luck.

--Wade

<p>Er, Wade - I think that box is a magnification. That does look like quite a big blob, though.<br />

<br />