How to credit photo for textbook

rwbowman

<p>As an amateur photographer, I did some free photography of the objects in the collection of a local museum. The photographs were used, with credit to me, in museum publications and on their website. A well-known publisher has queried the museum director about using one of the photographs in an upcoming textbook with a run of 99K copies. Both the museum director and I want to include both my name and the name of the museum with the photo. For what it's worth, the photo is in Lightroom with some metadata. At the time, with no real thought, I used the copyright field with " Robert Bowman, All Rights Reserved" entered in.<br>

I would very much appreciate any guidance any of you can give!</p>

<blockquote>

<p>A related question: should the museum expect payment for use of the photo, and if so, what would be a ballpark amount to request?</p>

</blockquote>

<p> Did you effectively transfer copyright ownership or third party licensing to the museum allowing for such payments to it? If so, then yes if it wishes to be paid. If, not, then no.<br /><br /><br>

Another related question, should YOU expect payment? Assuming you did not execute one of those transactions or give the museum a license to allow third party free use, then the proposed use in a completely separate entity's textbook is beyond the scope of the license you provided the museum. The question becomes whether others should use your imagery for free also.</p>