Correct color management only in the large viewing.

taschin

<p>I note that recently the embedded s-rgb profile of my photos is discarded in the normal viewing and it is only correctly embedded in the large viewing. For a user like me that has a wide gamut monitor, the differences between the two configuration is appreciable. Moreover if I use the multiple upload the profile is always descarted.<br>

Thank you very much.<br>

Andrea</p>

<p>I'm no expert in color management, but I thought all images displayed on web pages by most software <em>assume an sRGB profile as the default</em>, so whether or not the image has an embedded sRGB profile won't make any difference to the way it's displayed.</p>

<p>I thought only when the profile <em>isn't</em> sRGB (e.g. if it's Adobe RGB) do you need to embed it, and then it will only display using the embedded profile if the software used for display understands color management and can actually use the profile information.</p>

<p>As I said, I'm no expert, so if we have an expert here, they might want to comment and correct me.</p>

<p>Dear Bob, the profile should be always embedded in a image. What you say is not properly true:<br>

"most software assume an sRGB profile as the default"<br>

<br />It depend on the software: for example in photoshop you can choose what to do when you open an untagged image (if you have set right the color management policies), if you choose "Leave as is (don't color manage)" photoshop assume that the rgb values are those of the working space and then makes the monitor compensation (that is convert to the display profile) in order to show it to you. Thus, it depend on the working space you chose.<br>