D600 ? an upgrade of D700 ??

sam_clay

<p>HIYA,</p>

<p>I have been asking a few questions on here regarding my "potential" upgrade. I love my D3100 but I have heard on several forums that the D600 is the upgrade on the now (no longer being made?) D700 ? <br>

is this correct ?</p>

<p>Plus, is the D600 which is full frame....better the the D7100 which is DX ? <br>

I know the obvious answer is to say..."it depends what you want to shoot".....well, ...I am still not established, (doing commercial work at the moment, and photo jour no work), but I need something which is ...I guess sharper then the D3100.<br>

will I benefit from a D600 and will I see the difference, say, if I were to take a portrait on my D3100 WITH my 85mm 1.8 Nikon lens or will it be better on the d600 with the same lens ?<br>

excuse my ignorance - I am new to all this. Generally, I just work with my eye, and my techy stuff I need to work up on...so any advice appreciated</p>

<p>many thanks, and huge thanks for all the advice I have had so far on this forum - so many brilliant guys helping newbies THANK YOU, </p>

<p>X</p>

<b>Moderator's note:</b> Please stop SHOUTING your thread titles. It's really not necessary. Thanks. :-)

<p>Hi Sam. This has been discussed in several threads on the Nikon forum, but I'll try to give a summary:<br />

<br />

The D600 is an improvement in <a href="http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=nikon_d700&products=nikon_d600&products=nikon_d7100">several ways</a> on the D700. It's cheaper and lighter, it's faster without a battery grip (5.5fps vs 5fps), it's higher resolution, it has two card slots, it has (arguably) better metering, it supports video, it's about a stop better at high ISO, it has appreciably more dynamic range at the low end of the ISO range.<br />

<br />