Nikon repair?

royall_berndt

<p>This is the info for Nikon USA: <a href="http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Service-And-Support/Nikon-Inc-Shipping-Information.page">http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Service-And-Support/Nikon-Inc-Shipping-Information.page</a><br>

Since the OP is in New York, please use the Melville, Long Island, NY address.</p>

<p>As we mentioned in another thread, their facility in Los Angeles has moved recently; they are no longer in El Segundo: <a href="../nikon-camera-forum/00ay51">http://www.photo.net/nikon-camera-forum/00ay51</a></p>

<p>I've been sending lenses and bodies to Nikon in NY and CA for 30 years (other than when I was living in Japan and could take it to the repair facility in Shinjuku myself). Nikon repair is very, very slow and expensive. I recently sent my D700 to Nikon and had to immediately return it because it wouldn't even turn on! After another 3 weeks, I finally got it back. Six months later the camera was once again locking up so I tried APS. They did a fantastic job for peanuts, had it back in a week for $130 and it has worked great since. Check them out here:<br>

http://nikoncamerarepair.com<br>

Other than warranty repair (which fortunately is rare), I won't send anything to Nikon again.</p>

<p>I have had several dealings with Nikon repair in New York. Some were fast and great. Some were slow and poor. If they determine a piece cannot be restored to original condition, they send it back. Sometimes with parts missing and/or malfunctioning that worked fine prior to sending the piece in. I sent a D300 to them that worked great, but had been dropped. I asked to have it tested and calibrated. They sent it back without a body cap or eyepiece and no indication as to whether anything was wrong functionally or merely cosmetically which was a couple dings on the lower body.</p>

After numerous negative experiences with Nikon's CA

repair facility, I began using Authorized Photo Service as