Hustler magazine loses nude news anchor photo fair use appeal

<p>From the one link "Bosley and her husband negotiated with the photographer for rights to the photos, which they registered with the U.S. Copyright Office in 2004." I'd say the original amateur photographer gave up his copyright because he received some offer that made it worth his while, William. </p>

<p>Buying the copyright and suing for infringement may deter publications but "The Barbara Streisand Effect" in suing has garnered even more public attention negating the entire purpose of these efforts.<br /><br />An academic issue is if displaying the image now, to show what the newsworthy event concerns, amounts to fair use.</p>

<p>Opinion?</p>

<p>I'm not a lawyer - but isn't there a difference between fair use and news/editiorial? I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that now that a court has ruled on this case - use of the photo is germane to the situation and provides needed context for the stories that all are running on this case... </p>

<p>As a side note, I now wonder how long she will be at her current station. </p>

<p>Dave</p>

<blockquote>

<p>now that a court has ruled on this case - use of the photo is germane to the situation and provides needed context for the stories that all are running on this</p>

</blockquote>

<p>That's the exact issue I was thinking of. </p>

<p>I think the distinction here is that the news media (web, broadcast, and print) are using the image as editorial, where as Hustler attempted (and admitted as much) to use it, not as editorial or news, but instead under "fair use". </p>

<p>Had Hustler claimed "editorial" use - I think they might have gotten away with it, although it would be debatable how much news / editorial content is in a Hustler magazine. </p>

<p>Dave</p>