Amateur Sports Camera needed.

s_wainwright

<p>Complete novice here, and I'd hugely appreciate any suggestions.</p>

<p>I'm in desperate need of a half-decent digital camera for pictures of Martial Arts events. Currently I use my phone which is great for video, but suffers hugely from motion blur. I assume I need something with decent shutter speed, but I really have no idea what to look for. The pictures don't need to be of insanely high resolution, they're mainly needed for display online and for small leaflets/handouts.</p>

<p>Could anyone recommend a camera? I'm hoping to only spend £200-£400 ($300-$600ish).</p>

<p>Thanks.</p>

<p>I'd have a look at the Canon Powershot SX150 and SX40 camera's and similar offerings from other suppliers. If you read the reviews on <a href="http://www.dpreview">www.dpreview</a> and <a href="http://www.dcresource.com">http://www.dcresource.com</a> you will get a comparison between these cameras and others as well. Search for models that offer manual control so that you can decide how to take the picture.<br>

In general a DSLR will be better for sports because of faster autofocus but I'm afraid these will be outside your budget. Perhaps a 2nd hand last year's entry model?<br>

The above are just a few thoughts, in the end also have a look which camera feels best in your hands.</p>

<p>Jos -- Thanks for the suggestions, I'll take a look. I know it's a low budget but I don't think I need anything particularly special. So long as I can avoid motion blur, I'm more than happy. If you think that's not possibly in my budget, please let me know.<br>

William -- Yes, flash is fine.</p>

<p>You were very quick to decide and place an order.</p>

<p>For a very specific reason: I use a Powershot SX40 HS for sports photography. (I also use a pair of Powershot P5 IS Cameras).<br /> I mention these facts to explain that I am very familiar with these cameras and specifically the uses of them, for shooting action sports.</p>