Is the Nikon d300s right for my needs?

adam_nash2

Hello all,

I have been doing some considerable research on the net and there are many comparisons between the Nikon d300s vs d7000. Whilst

the D7000 seems to have to he slight edge on IQ, dynamic range and ISO sensitivity I have actually not managed to find any side-by-side

image comparisons. I have just bought the d300s along with an 18 - 200 Nikkor lens for an upcoming trip to Chile where I will be shooting

fast moving wildlife as well as high ISO shots of the night sky/ sunrise/ sunset. I believe I got a good deal on the setup $1700 with

additional battery and grip but I'm now wondering should I sell the body and get the d7000.

I am by no means a pro and this is my only camera so it needs to earn its place. The d7000 seems to have the edge on IQ but will I

REALLY notice it?

<p>For fast moving wildlife, you made the right decision. For the night stuff, you will get by. If you really want to get into night stuff, get a Sigma or Tamron 18-50mm f2.8. I'm a night shooter and have been using the D300 for years, and now also a D5100 (same sensor as D7000.) the D5100 handles night a little better, but the d300 handles fast AF better than the D5100's improvement with night shots. We all await a D400.</p>

<p>Kent in SD</p>

<p>When I decided to buy a new camera, I looked at the D7000 and D300s, but when I saw that the D7000 had the dial on the top left that I so often bumped on my D70s at just the wrong time, and that the D300s has a faster frame rate, autofocus, and bigger buffer, I didn't think about it, I went for the D300s. I find it to be excellent at ISO 1600, and it's definitely fast, where I used to miss shots with the D70s, I get far more keepers now. I couldn't be happier. I actually bought two refurbs for $1250 US each to replace my two D70s bodies, I shoot events and concerts. (Kent, isn't it a 17-50 f/2.8.)</p>

<p>You can view side-by-side comparison shots here:</p>