Lens for indoor photography.

jiawei_zhang

<p>I'm sorry about my many posts in the last few weeks, but I'm in a hurry to get a new lens for my D90 because my school asked me to photograph a fashion show in about 3 or 4 weeks. Since I'm a high school student (yeah, I'm young and eager to learn) I don't exactly have the greatest budget, maybe up to $500. After shooting the last event with a borrowed 28-70 afs, I learned that I use the range from 35-65 the most since I'll be able to get front row seats in my auditorium.</p>

<p>The lenses I'm currently considering are the following:</p>

<p>Nikon 35-70 f2.8 D - $339 used on keh.com<br>

Nikon 35-70 f2.8 Non-D - $254 used on keh.com<br>

Tamron 28-70 f2.8 Non-BIM - $275 used on keh.com</p>

<p>The few questions I have are the following:</p>

<p>1. Is the Nikon 35-70 D significantly optically better than the Non-D? I read that the coatings are different and metering with flash is different but I don't use flash, so that doesn't matter. Is the $100 difference worth paying?</p>

<p>2. Are these lenses fast (focusing) enough to photograph walking models in a poorly lit auditorium? I can go up to iso3200 and still get decent shots after my awesome noise-reduction software. And I hope that I can maintain at least a 1/200 shutter speed.</p>

<p>3. Do any of you who own one or more of these have any suggestions on which one to buy? I'll have to make my decision by maybe tomorrow in order to get the lenses in time and test them adequately.</p>

<p>4. Is buying bargain grade on keh.com good enough to guarantee there are no flaws with the optics? I really don't care at all about the cosmetic appearance of the barrel.</p>

<p>Thanks everyone for their time in advance!</p>