FD lens on a 4/3 camera

doug_williams4

<p>I looked at the archives and could only find information on M4/3 converters. Does anyone have any experience using FD lenses on a 4/3 camera? I have a Panasonic DMC L-1 and would like to use my collection of FD lenses as back up, I have a 50mm f.1.4, 24mm, 135mm and an old 200mm. Image quality is very important to me so using a converter that degrades the image is counter productive. Any ideas? <br>

Thanks,<br>

Doug</p>

I have no m4/3-FD experience, but I do with two other converters: LTM (39mm, I think) and

Nikon. My converters have no optical elements, or even any moving parts other than, in the case

of Nikon, a pin to lock the lens in position, so image quality is up to the lens. Some expensive

converters have a lever to set the aperture of lenses with no aperture ring, but I have some

pre-G Nikons that do have aperture rings, so its not an issue.

IQ with my Panasonic G3 and a Nikkor 85mm f/1.8 is excellent.

But, bear in mind:

1. Manual focusing only.

2. Unless the lens is a preset, you have to either focus at taking aperture or stop down

manually after focusing wide open. (I don't think any Nikon F lenses were preset, because

even the first F had an automatic diaphragm.)

3. My very cheap ($17 or so) Nikon converter is a little too short, so the lens focuses past infinity. In practice, this means that you have to focus the lens on far objects--you can't just turn the focus all the way until it stops. I assume this also loses something at the near end, but I don't care. I could have paid more, in the range of $50 - $250 for the converter, but chose not to, as it is only for occasional use.

You may even find that some marginal lenses for 35mm cameras work better with m4/3

because only the center of the image circle is used.