Just Starting Out!

michaeldaggett

<p>Ok, I'm an Amateur Photographer - I clearly know my lane and dont even pretend to be a Professional. In addition to the obvious lack of experience in any situation, I only have one camera body, just a couple of lenses, no studio to speak of, no insurance etc. You know the deal..... Im a hobbyist who wants to get better and learn. <br>

I've created an image pro website, and a facebook fan page, both of which clearly spell out that I'm an amateur photographer looking for 'clients' so that I can gain the experience go to the next level, then the next level etc. Im curious from the pro's here if I am going about this the right way? What advice can you give me to help me on my journey to get to your level? I don't discount the years and years of experience, not just years on the calendar, but years of actual photography sessions. <br>

But in order to grow my craft, I need to advertise to get clients. So I created a "business" for lack of a better word so that people will take me more serious than the creepy craigslist guy looking to shoot people hoping they get naked for their photo shoot. :) <br>

When people see my site, my images, I hope they see at least a level of talent worth their time to help me in my art. In exchange I want to give them something for their time, prints)<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p>Hi Michael - I had a look at your Pro site. My expectation? That it would be full of amateurish, badly focused, poorly presented 'stuff' with the odd ok shot.</p>