Considering 20mm lens

andreasb

<p>I am not a pro but have been taking classes with demanding instructors who have pushed me very hard and have made a dramatic improvement in my skills. As a result, I am much more demanding of myself, my results and my gear. This brought up some issues I have been working on solving for the last year. Here is the gear I am using:<br>

Canon 7D<br />Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 OS<br />Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 non-OS<br />Canon 17-40mm f/4<br />Canon Primes: 28mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8 and 85mm f/1.8<br>

I started using primes because the results for my cheap 50mm f/1.8 lens were so much better than any of the zooms that I frequently find myself unsatisfied with the results of the zooms and have switched more and more to primes as much as is practical.<br>

I am considering a Canon 20mm f/2.8 or a Sigma 20mm f/1.4 because I need something fairly wide at a reasonable price. Both of these lenses have mixed reviews and I find myself hesitating to buy one. The rest of the primes I have listed were relatively highly recommended and have worked out great for me. I shoot mostly in a photojournalistic style and am curious if the problems discussed are the result of people's desire for absolute perfection, or if they are, from a practical standpoint, just not that significant. Here is what I have read about these lenses online:<br>

Canon 20mm f/2.8<br />Soft around the edges<br />Lifeless colors<br />Bad detail<br>

Sigma 20mm f/1.4<br />Soft (Isn't this to be expected at f/1.4? Should it not improve stopped down?)<br />Inaccurate focus<br />Bad detail<br />Bad contrast<br>

These are, of course, just the complaints. There are many more good reviews also. Are most of the issues listed the result of not understanding the nature of the lenses and how to use them or are there inherent challenges in making this kind of lens work well?</p>