flickr photos for book to be published from U.K.

<p>I recently received a request from someone who claims to work for a company called Bloomsbury Publishing Plc and located in the U.K. I'm told in the email that they are planning to publish a book on roller derby fashion and are interesting in using some of my roller derby photos that they've seen posted on Flickr. I have no experience or knowledge in these types of transactions and I was given no details on the submission process. They just asked if they can use a particular set of images and would need hi Res copies. I'm not a professional. While it might be cool to see my work in book format, I'm a bit apprehensive about just giving my work away for what has been described as primarily a photo book. I wonder if any of you p.net photo transaction veterans would mind giving me some quick tips on how to proceed in something like this? Do I need to contact the athletes in the photos to obtain photo releases? Should I expect to charge for usage of my photos? If so, what is a reasonable request? Since my work already exists, should this be treated like a photo stock transaction? Thank you all!</p>

<p>Bloomsbury are a reputable UK publisher (they picked up JK Rowling and Harry Potter after other publishers rejected the wizard stories). They are here: http://www.bloomsbury.com/</p>

<p>Jeff is about right with his estimate of repro fees. And absolutely correct that releases are not required (unless some peculiar factors are at play).</p>

<p>Rates vary but here are some that are current and used by a major UK Govt agency:<br>

Cover £155<br>

Cover (front and back) £229<br>

Inside (double page) £187<br>

Full page (inside) £127<br>

1/2 page £99<br>

1/4 page £66</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Jeff/John, thank you so much for your responses! I did get another response from the Bloomsbury contact with more detail about the project. I've copied some detail from the response below. . .</p>

<blockquote>