Editing computer build

mark newcombe www.mcnphoto

<p>Hi Guys,<br>

I have been a long time stills pro but have now retired due to illness and have taken up kayak fishing. I would like to make some videos on Kayak fishing so I have come up with the following computer build as my old trusty amd just doesn't cut it anymore.<br>

Here is the build spec if anyone who knows about this stuff would like to adjust it please let me know looking at ordering the stuff next week.<br>

CPU: I7 950 quad<br />Mobo: Asus Sabertooth X58<br />RAM: 12 gig corsair vengece 6x2gig sticks<br />Power: Antec 750 true power<br />CASE: Coolermaster 922HAF<br />Optical: Blueray combo (probably sony)<br />HDD: 120gig SSD primary and 2 x 1000gb wd cavier blacks in raid (i'll add more later if needed)<br />OP Sys: Ultimate 64 (but i can't really see any advantage over pro64 but for $20 there may be)<br>

GPU: Issue I'm lost here something around the $250-300 mark. I'll be using vegas 10 so mercury is not important but i guess cuda makes a differance. I must run twin monitor set up and have decent speed so suggestions here would be great. I can't see the value in going for a top end gaming card but I'm probably wrong.<br>

Footage will all be hd 3 cam set up but thats a discussion for another day I need to gett he editing system right first.</p>

<p>Thanks for taking the time to read this looking forward to hearing any responses.</p>

<p>Regards<br>

Mark</p>

• 2 weeks later...

<p>I'd get a macbook pro or tower. I've edited on mine for years without trouble. It's got an external SATA Sonnet array for the data files. Get Final Cut and you'll never look back.<br>

All the video samples here:<br>

<a href="http://www.tvlvideo.com/samples.php?location=1">http://www.tvlvideo.com/samples.php?location=1</a><br>

were edited on that Macbook Pro.</p>

THAT'S what I'm talking about!

My specs: MBP 17" maxed out in RAM, FC Express

My wife's specs: MBP 15" maxed out in RAM, FCE