Leica Lenses on Full Frame Canon Digital?

rob_h5

<p>Anyone here adapt ANY Leica R mount lenses on Canon full frame digital? I would like to hear reviews/results from photographers who have actually used Leica lenses on Canon full frame digital or non full-frame digital cameras. I have shot with the Canon 5D/5DMKII using Olympus OM Zuiko lenses but now I am interested in trying Leica-R lenses (with adapter of course). I have plenty of experience using manual lenses on the Canon full frame digital so I am aware of all the limitations using manual lens on Canon digital. I would especially interested in the result of the Leica Leitz 90mm f/2 APO Summicron-R, I shot with the OM Zuiko 100/2 ED lens (the finest portrait lens from Olympus OM) on Canon full frame digital with outstanding results...superb bokeh, color rendition, sharpness, IQ...ect. Since Olympus was inspired by Leica, I would expect the Leica 90/2 APO on Canon digital to be just as good as the Olympus OM 100/2 ED or even better in comparison. </p>

<p>I have used Leica lenses on Canon 30D body and although I have not done much serious testing yet, the results are very good. I don't have the lens details with me at the moment so can't say further than that at this time.<br>

You need to be careful with 5D because in some Leica lenses the mirror may hit the rear lens element. This is one of several sites that lists lenses by compatibility(just goole leica EOS compatability). <a href="http://www.pebbleplace.com/Personal/Leica_db.html">http://www.pebbleplace.com/Personal/Leica_db.html</a><br>

Some devotees of this combination have the reflex mirror shaved so it clears that rear element.</p>

<p>Also: <a href="http://photonotes.org/articles/eos-manual-lenses/">http://photonotes.org/articles/eos-manual-lenses/</a></p>

<p> </p>