5d mk 1 or 60d?

louis_webb

<p>Noob here. I am in the process of selling my medium format film kit and I want to get an outfit that will give me as close to possible IQ as my Pentax 645n with Velvia did. I had the 45-85 (28-54 35mm equivalent) and 150 lenses. I used a tripod for most of the shots but I anticipate handholding more with the transition to digital (? roughly 50/50). The main subjects will be landscapes, nature, people/family (landscapes 70%). I have a 85mm filter set (3 filter HiTech-like Lee, super high quality, with a Helioplan 105 CPL), so having a filter thread that accomodates this is important.<br />I have several options available with my £1200-1300 budget (? around $1800-1900).<br />Used Canon 5d £699. This is from a local camera shop, has had 2 amateur former owners and appears to my eyes absolultely mint (both in condition and including the box and all the accessories plus an extra Canon battery; although I haven't looked inside the camera at the mirror etc.) It has a Canon voucher inside the box that is dated to end in 2006, I'm therefore guessing it's late 2005/early 2006 vintage. I would add a 24-105 l lens to this in all likelihood, though I may have to save up a bit more or take a punt on a grey import ('seen one on a couple of websites for £650!)<br />Canon 60d plus 17-85 lens. Would I miss something in IQ? I have plenty of concern about dust accumulation with the 5d, especially given my propensity to landscape skies at f11 to f22. Having only one lens will help I suppose as I won't have to change but is this a deal breaker? I really think that the bigger sensor/good glass=high IQ is what I'm looking for. I also don't need lots of the latest features (video, liveview, high iso) but dust removal on newer cameras sounds great and will a 60d plus good glass give me all I want IQ-wise anyway?<br />BTW, I have a Epson a4 printer and I don't plan printing bigger than this-being able to have nice clean large images on my 22" monitor is a must