Planning for the LF future in a realistic manner

cxc

I started shooting large format a couple years ago, just as a

hobbiest, and I hope to continue for another twenty years or so. My

cameras are decidedly entry-level. The time has come that I want to

get a really nice 4x5 monorail that I can use conveniently in the

field; Technikardan and Arca-Swiss are currently the top contenders.

Currently I use nothing but film, and prefer it that way. But it

seems nearly certain that the sea change to digital will engulf LF

sometime during the next twenty years. Probably sooner than later, I

will need/want to go digital, be it for convenience, quality, cost,

necessity, whatever. How should I let that likelihood affect my

planned camera purchase in the next six months?

Ideally I'd hope that someone came up with a digital back shaped

exactly like a film holder, so it wouldn't matter what camera I

used. How likely is that? Bare in mind that I rarely enlarge

greater than 16"x20", so I won't be needing the mega-resolution top-

end pro stuff.

I've noted a couple of cameras that are already on the market and

leaning towards digital: Linhof's M679, and Sinar's P3. Here at

photonet there is quite a bit of derision and sarcasm directed

towards these cameras; is it simply an emotional reaction or are they

really headed down the wrong path? In particular, both are smaller

than 4x5; do the mechanics of large format digital make it likely or

even certain that a size other than 4x5 will be preferable? I want a

camera I can take in the field, that doesn't need an attached

computer, that doesn't need to be plugged in, that doesn't have an

unwieldy 20lb. battery pack.

I haven't really investigated the scanning backs currently

available. Presumably something simpler, cheaper, more portable, and

better will emerge soonish. But will it work conveniently with a

Technikardan? And will it work better with the 23 than the 45?