<p>To my astonishment, David, I'm still using the ink that originally shipped with the printer. I've been using it weekly for several months now, printing everything from runs of greeting cards to Super-A3 sized prints on 100% Rag (and ink-hungry!) fine art paper. Three cartridges are just about on fumes, now, and I have spares ready to go. I'm truly amazed at how much mileage I've seen out of the first round of ink. <br /><br />At least a few hundred dollars out of your purchase of that printer is represented by that first big ol' bucket of ink they ship with it. Quality-wise, I've been nothing but delighted. It's so good that it's changed how I shoot, why I shoot, and how (and to whom, and how often) other peoplel see what I do. A very good investment. Compared to lab printing - especially on larger prints on fancy-pants paper - the printer has already paid for itself. To say nothing of my bad habit of printing at 2:00AM when I've got to show work at 10:00AM in the morning!<br /><br />If you can swing the price tag, you won't be sorry. Set aside some desk space, though - it's not petite!</p>

<p>3800. Because I do a lot of B&W I've replaced all the blacks once, and a cyan (light cyan?). I print a few dozen letter-size prints monthly and sometimes a few 11X17 or 13X19 (super A-3). Two years old, zero grief. I print on rag and on baryta semi-gloss. If it sits for a week I do a clog-test, which costs almost no ink. If there is a clog it's minor and is fixed with one cleaning cycle...not cheap but totally reliable in one pass. My old 2200 was just as reliable but it slurped a lot more ink and the tiny carts added up to be way more expensive...was only good on rag/matte.</p>

<p>thanks neil and matt<br>

that's great to hear that your original inks have lasted you well, and on a variety of uses. i'll certainly bear what i have learned here in mind.<br>