How can I enlarge a print properly?

c_k17

<p>I have 12 MP available, though I have to do some cropping like maybe reducing it to 7MP to make a print up to 20X30, I have been dissatisfied with previous prints, color problem, pixels, etc. it just looks bad. I know I'm not a professional, but does it have to be so difficult to get at least some type of good result?<br>

I've seen these wedding photos that look just as nice as its small 4X6 version, do I need a different lab? Photoshop upsizing? I'm sort of tired of playing around with megapixels only to receive similar results.<br>

I don't expect in depth info about this, but pointing me to the right direction would be very helpful so I can do better research.<br>

Thanks.</p>

<p>Sounds like maybe you're cropping too much? The MP rating really isn't the factor so much as the actual pixel dimensions of the final image. The formula is to multipy DPI by the size of the print you want and that gives you the pixel dimensions you need.</p>

<p>So if you want to print a 20x30 print, at <strong>100 DPI</strong>, you need an image that's <strong>2000x3000</strong> pixels or larger. If you want a 20x30 print at <strong>200 DPI</strong>, then you need an image that's <strong>4000x6000 </strong>or larger. If you want a 20x30 print at <strong>300 DPI</strong>, then you need an image that's <strong>6000x9000 </strong>or larger.</p>

<p>Most people will tell you for best print quality you should stay between the 200 - 300 DPI range. You can still print at the 100 DPI range, but the picture will not look as good up close, you'll need to view it from farther away.</p>

<p>Also, be sure you're not over-saving your JPEG images. Each time you re-save a JPEG image, you lose quality. That may be a factor as well.</p>

<p>If ignorance were bliss! We're talking DPI not pixels.<br>