Raw or Jpegs?

timages

<p>Though im an experienced photographer, I am fairly new to digital, (iv been dragging my feet regarding trying it) I wish to ask Digital wedding photographers if they shoot in Raw or Jpegs modes. I have yet to do a wedding with my digital equipment, I have one coming up soon and am debating which to use film or digital. If I shoot it in raw I know it means spending a lot of time working on the files, whereas if I use film I can let a pro Lab do all the work for me. Anyways I want to know what most wedding photographers use Raw or Jpegs? Thanks, Tim.</p>

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>RAW, RAW, RAW.</p>

<p>The discussion starts and ends there. Although I am sure others may make the case for JPEG. So all you J-Peggers what is your rational? And to think that I was anti RAW and pro JPEG at one point. I was such a fool.</p>

<p>The <strong>best</strong> option is RAW/JPEG which most good cameras offer the option to do.</p>

<p>Interesting. I haven't responded to this question in perhaps six months. ;-)</p>

<p>I won't tell you whether to shoot film or digital. But if you are shooting digital, you should shoot raw—or raw + jpeg.</p>

<p>There is only 1 serious disadvantage to raw files these days, and that is their size: they may be 50% larger than the associated jpegs, perhaps larger than that. But storage is cheap, so this really should not be a significant problem for anybody any more.</p>

<p>A second very minor disadvantage of raw: on many cameras, shooting raw slows down the burst rate. This is less than minor for me, at least, since I've never needed to shoot so many shots in quick succession that raw became an issue.</p>