Copyright, pricing for website photos

<p>Hello: I am an established photographer with my own portrait business. Recently a client asked me to shoot images for their business website (6 head shots and shots of the facility). I have not done this type of work before and wanted to know about allowing my images to be used on a business professional website. Some questions I have are : 1. Should I ask for credit on their website and brochures 2. How much should I charge. My portrait business I charge $125 for the session then prints are al-carte. They want images for the web and also for their brochure. Any advice would be so much appreciated. Thank you. </p>

<p>Small businesses are always a different breed and you have to sort of feel your way through it. I shoot commercial work and if a client asks for this sort of thing, a small business type, I usually just shoot it for a normal business type rate--generally I find out their budget and see if it is reasonable!</p>

<p>Not knowing the client, I would say that charging your per portrait session fee per individual and an additional 50% for post work would be in the ball park. This way you are paid for your time and if you get any sales of pirnts, it is just a bonus!</p>

<p>Julie:<br /><br />You can certainly ask for credit but be prepared that they might not want to give it. If credit is important to you you can always offer a slight reduction in price if they offer you a credit line/byline. As far as pricing goes, asking them what their budget would be is a good idea. But, think your pricing through before and have a "lowest price" that you'll be prepared to accept. That way you know what you're prepared to accept and don't risk any "mental stumbles" during negotiations.</p>