Working in Raw

dorothy_kay

<p>I am an amateur who has always shot in JPEG, and just shot my first batch of RAW images (over 300 pics). I think I am in way over my head, and despite articles papering my walls, and PS books all over my desk, I am overwhelmed. I have PS3 and a D90 camera, which incidentally,made the images look great on the screen. Despite searches, my question is, can I convert all the raw images (untouched) to JPEG, and then apply post processing? Side note: I need step by step instructions because I am technologically challanged!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Dorothy: This would defeat the purpose of shooting RAW. You have to do the adjustments to the RAW file before you save as jpg. Probably best at this point if you use the software that came with the camera and follow the instructions given there. If you go with PS, you have to open the files from the Browse in Bridge... dialogue. If the RAW images can't be seen or opened there, it means that your version of PS does not support the RAW file format of your camera. If you can, the rest should be pretty straightforward. Good luck!</p>

<p>Hi Dorothy,<br />The point of shooting RAW is so that you have alot more control in making changes to your images, which have no data loss at that point. If you convert them to jpeg and then edit, you may as well have shot them in jpeg in the first place.<br />You don't need to go crazy with editing in RAW if your images are close to the way you want them. You can do simple things like adjust white balance, color, and contrast. If you want to go deeper than that, as you know there are plenty of resources to learn how to do that. One you're finished in CS3 (I assume you meant you have CS3), just click the bar in the lower left corner that says "save image", and you can save it as a jpeg. You'll still have the RAW/NEF image to go back to if you need to tweak something later.</p>