How much camera should I buy?

richard_spurgeon

<p>I'm a sort of a beginner looking to buy a camera and lens; what about this combination? Nikon D300s with Nikon Nikkor 70-300mm zoom VR image stabilization f/4.5-5.6G AF-s IF-ED. Is this too much technology for a beginner? Are there any drawbacks to this combination? Would you suggest a different lens with this camera or vice versa? I'm renewing my interest in photography. I used to do it for a hobby back in the 60s and 70s. Can photos from this camera be downloaded into Apple's Aperture? Can video be downloaded into Apple's iMovie 9? I appreciate any recommendations or knowledge you can share with me.</p>

<p><strong>Richard asked: "</strong> what about this combination? Nikon D300s with Nikon Nikkor 70-300mm zoom VR image stabilization f/4.5-5.6G AF-s IF-ED.</p>

<p> It lacks wide-through normal focal lengths, where the great majority of photographs are made. Add the kit lens, 18-55 VR, and you have a lot more capabilities.</p>

<p>"Is this too much technology for a beginner?"</p>

<p> No.</p>

<p>"Are there any drawbacks to this combination? Would you suggest a different lens with this camera or vice versa?"</p>

<p>See above. I'd also add one fast lens, making it a 3-lens kit. The sigma 30/1.4 or Nikkor 35/1.8 will do.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I'll agree with Luis, but will ask that you mention what sort of shooting you think is calling to you. Sports? Critters? Landscapes? People (and if so, in what sort of setting)? If you're just getting into things, your creative interests will probably wander around a bit, but I've got to assume that your interest in that longer lens, for example, is based on something in particular.</p>

<blockquote>

<p ><a href="../photodb/user?user_id=5941867"><em>Richard Spurgeon</em></a><em> </em><a href="../member-status-icons"></a><em>, Feb 19, 2010; 06:30 a.m.</em><br>