Shooting On Vacation

melinda_gaus

<p>Hi!</p>

<p>I'm going on vacation this Saturday (woooo), and I have a question.</p>

<p>I used to primarily shoot in JPEG simply because that's how the camera came programmed. But I've been experimenting with RAW formats. I shoot with a Nikon D80. Anyways, I have some more questions about RAW, since I'm relatively new to it.</p>

<p>This trip is primarily a vacation. (ie. It is NOT a photography trip). I'm happy to take a camera along and have fun, but it is not the main goal of the trip. I would most likely be taking some "semi-trying-to-be-professional shots", but also the standard vacation snaps.</p>

<p>I would like to, ideally, shoot all in RAW, so I have the most options for pp when I come home. My question is, how time consuming would this be? If I take 300 photos (wild guess), I assume I have to convert them all to JPEG at some point. I've always done this just one photo at a time. Can you batch process this?</p>

<p>Also, I assume I won't be able to take my camera card to WalMart (or whomever) and just print from their machine. I assume it does not recognize RAW. How would I get my prints then? Since many of these will be snaps, WalMart will suffice for my purposes here.</p>

<p>I would like to use the RAW format, though, in case I am lucky enough to get anything special.</p>

<p>I know you can shoot RAW+JPEG, but I'm trying to save data space if possible. I will go this route, if it seems to be the only feasible way.</p>

<p>Any other input would be great. Thanks.</p>

<p><strong>Melinda typed: "</strong> This trip is primarily a vacation. (ie. It is NOT a photography trip). I'm happy to take a camera along and have fun, but it is not the main goal of the trip"</p>

<p> Whaaaat? :-)</p>