high quality digital book printers

ian_whitehead1

<p>Happy holidays,<br>

I am asking for experiences you have had or know of someone having with a short run or even a single book printing. There are other listings in this topic but I am asking other large format photographers because I feel we aim for the highest of quality. I currently drum scan all of my 4x5 images that make it to my collection. I am not interested in something like lulu, I am looking for top notch printing of photography, I'd rather pay between a hundred and two hundred dollars for something that can match my print quality than some 40 dollar pile of ****. Something in the 12x12 or 11x14 size would be better than an 8x10 size. I have been shooting large format for ten years now and it's time I put together a book of the southwest. Any help is greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>I've already checked with and had samples made of my file of virtually every short run digital press out there and was very dissappointed in the quality compared to a good offset press. The best quality is to do it yourself on your own ink jet printer. No press on the market, even the very best high resolution six color offset press can equal the output of even a relatively "cheap" ink jet printer (I have the Epson 1400).</p>

<p>Thanks Mike,<br>

I have wondered if this is the case. If running photos off my Epson, what do think about the durabilty of these prints, smudging, fingerprints or just rubbing together vs. the commercial digital bookprinting printers that you mentioned? What about paper choice? I do like the look of gloss, but is this the best way to go for durability?</p>

<p>Ian</p>