Advice on creating a website

sheryl_bury_michals

<p>I've been shooting rugby for about 15 years (first film, but mostly digital now), but in the past few years I've shot social events and not-for-profit events. I feel it's time to put a website of my work together, but I would like to know if there are any what are the advantages/disadvantages between creating one yourself or going to a site like SmugMug or Zenfolio to create it there? Also, how would you put a watermark or make the photos view-only and not able to be copied on a site, so people don't "take" your work without permission. Some sites I've seen use watermarks on their work, but others don't and can still be able to not have the image copied without permission.<br>

Also, on one indivdual's photo website I've checked, they charge $6 for a 4x6, $8 for a 5x7, and $12 for a 8x10. On SmugMug, they charge a hell of a lot less ($2.99 for a 5x7 I think), even though they do the printing work for you. I found that interesting, as you'd have to sell an awful lot to reap any benefits, or even to cover your own operating costs. How do you hanlde online payment? On several forums I've checked, it seems paypal is the way to go (as you can also use your credit card if you don't have a paypal account).<br>

Any advice would be appreciated, as people are willing to pay for my work, and it would be better to have a site that can accommodate them.<br /><br />Thanks<br>

Sheryl</p>

<p>Wedding photographers seem to like Smugmug. I'm not familiar with it, but I believe you can set your own pricing. A watermark along with posting low resolution images should help minimize theft of images. I believe galleries can also be password protected.</p>

<p>You may want to read through some of the posts in the Wedding & Events forum on Photo.net for more suggestions:</p>

<p>http://www.photo.net/wedding-photography-forum/</p>

<p> </p>