HP 2475 Wide Gamut monitor - best calibration tool / software?

<p>Hello! I'm an experienced digital darkroom tech and have recently acquired an HP 2475 monitor. Overall, I'm pleased with the monitor, but I find it difficult to calibrate properly.<br>

I have it set up side-by-side with a Lacie Electron Blue IV, an old state-of-the-art CRT. I have GM Eye One Display 2 and ColorMatch 3 software.</p>

<p>I have run calibration half a dozen times, and I get very close. But the HP looks a bit greenish and slightly washed out compared with the Lacie. I have tried different color temp settings and settled on a custom 6000K to come closest to the 6500 K Lacie (5000-5500 is way to warm for the Lacie). I have tried the EyeOne recommended 120 cd/m brightness setting as well as lower settings in the 90-100 range. While it is possible to turn down brightness, one end up with a very dim screen that is somehow still overall lighter (less saturated, perhaps) than the Lacie. Turning brightness all the way down makes it hard to judge exposure, though personally I find most monitors for photo editing relatively dim, but this is necessary to get decent screen-to-print matching.</p>

<p>I downloaded and tried the IC ColorEyes Display Pro with the EyeOne D2. ColorEyes allows you to calibrate to a lower brightness level, however, I don't see much of a difference in end result.<br>

In terms of color accuracy, I have read various threads that have users setting the RGB channels independently, sometimes visually - not using a color spectrometer. To me, this makes no sense. Another methodology is to set the channels at default and have the calibration software adjust them. This makes the most sense, however, I believe it may be necessary to reduce RGB channel intensity in order to obtain a lower and color balanced cd/m - I'm not sure.<br>