Photos being used MORE then expected

<p>OK - I'm goign to dummy this up a bit as you do not need ALL the tiny details. <br>

I am a member of small town organization and we were having an event. They asked to use a photo for some promo tickets which was fine. Then - the Chamber of Commerce ask to use the photo for some posters for a town wise event which was fine. <br>

Now I see that the photo is going on 1000 T-Shirts selling for $10 AND this photo might become a trademark for this LARGE yearly citywide event in future years. This will become THEY major event for the town.<br>

I'm sitting here saying - did I screw myself? I'm really not angry or anything but wondering about rights. Just ignore the "rights" issue? <br>

I'm not even sure what I'm asking but for some reason I see trouble in the future and I'm not even sure what that trouble could be.<br>

Two organizations which, being a small town dislike each other with the same artwork.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I am not a lawyer, and you might need to consult one to be certain.</p>

<p>My understanding, though, is that if you hold the copyright on the photographs, then they do not have any rights unless you explicitly grant them.</p>

<p>I don't know the details of your agreements about the tickets or the posters, but it sounds sloppy of them to be using photos commercially without a license to do so.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Does the contract express your expectations?<br>

Or another way of putting this is... did you have a contract?<br>

Lacking that, you will need an attorney's assistance at the very least. The attempt to trademark your work without your copyright assent is going to hang things up. Have you copyrighted - that is registered the copyright - for the work in question?</p>

<p>Register your copyright. </p>