FM2n light meter not working

david_waugh3

<p>I have recently acquired a 'new' FM2n but cannot get any LED's to light up. I am not a Nikon newbie (having owned an F3, FA and some FE2's) but quite possibly am doing something completely stupid :-)  Have tried three sets of batteries, have cleaned the contacts, shutter speed isn't on bulb, shutter cocked etc. I have also searched the net to no avail, so sorry if this has been addressed before.  Does anyone have any ideas?  Many thanks in advance.<br>

</p>

<p>Pulling the wind lever out turns the meter on with an FM, but not an FM2n. For the FM2n, you've got to pull the wind lever out and depress the shutter button slightly. Of course, making sure you've got good batteries, and making sure they're inserted the correct way is a good idea. The "battery check" for an FM/FM2n is to turn on the meter and see that the LEDs light up.</p>

<p>Does the FM2n's meter stay off until the frame counter reaches 1, like the FE2? I tried to search for that info but didn't come up with anything.</p>

<p>Even if that's the case, I suppose you've been firing & winding the camera enough to be in the regular frame count range while trying to figure this out.</p>

I have the FM2n and I never had any problem with the meter. When it arrived I put the bateries and never had to change them in more than 10 years (I am a casual photographer).

<p>

The only thing I can think of is that, sometimes, bateries or bateries cavity have a protective plastic to avoid contact meanwhile the camera is storage.

<p>

You can look throught this very informative web page, there are several pages devoted to the FM2n and, may be, there is a reference to your problem. http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/classics/nikonfmseries/fm2n/fm2manual/index.htm

<p>David,<br>

I had the same problem with a late model FM2N, purchased in what could be described as reasonably "used" condition. <br>