Travel back-ups and safety

divo

<p >I will be taking a trip to Egypt in early 2010. However, I haven’t taken any serious international photo trips since going digital and am looking for tips on how best to balance safety with amount of gear. I’m a hobby photographer, so I don’t have deadlines etc. and am wondering about the general consensus on backing up images. Do most people travel with a laptop and external hard drive or with something like a hyperdrive? <a href="http://www.hyperdrive.com/">http://www.hyperdrive.com/</a> </p>

<p >If I take a laptop, a 5D, 3-4 lenses, and an external hard drive, what safety concerns am I looking at? Do expensive hotels offer services that give a better chance of keeping your laptop and accessories safe while you are out shooting? Alternately, can you leave laptops and external hard drives at a relatively cheap guest house and be confident that you’ll leave with all the gear you came with? Or, do you simply have to be prepared to carry everything with you or risk losing it? Any thoughts or tips would be greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>I use a HyperDrive for storing images while travelling. In travels through Japan, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, and Cambodia, the only thing I've had stolen was a small flashlight that I didn't lock in my bag. I do have small locks on my backpack (mainly to keep out pickpockets) and a small cable lock I use to attach the bag to furniture when I leave it in a room, but these wouldn't stop a determined thief. I don't have any experience with Egypt, so I don't know about gear safety issues there.</p>

<p>

<p>Mixon: thanks for sharing your experiences. I just recently found out about Hyperdrives and have to say that I am intrigued by their claims of ease of use and portability. Any other thoughts on the Hyperdrive? Is it an accessory you love, or is it a make-do type of compromise?</p>

</p>