Carry-On Luggage

<p>Hi ,<br>

This is my first time traveling with my gear and I understand I can bring my camera bag on the flight as carryon but can I bring a MONOPOD on the plane as well.... I feel they will think of it as a weapon.....I just want the monopod to make it to the destiantion</p>

<p>When in doubt, call the airlines and ask, giving a specific description of the item. Banned items are clearly defined on the carriers' websites. My experience is that they don't deviate too much from that. It doesn't have a sharp point or fire bullets, so you're in pretty good shape. The weight of the carry-on may be very importance now, so check that as well. Fifteen years ago Lufthansa already weighed carry-on bags. Different carriers do have slightly different restrictions, so check. Packing it in your hold luggage might be the safest; monopods and tripods are not the type of camera gear that stimulates the sticky finger types. I've flown numerous times with a $3000 Light & Motion underwater housing and a $1400 regulator in my hold luggage and never had a problem... but you can be sure that the camera body, lenses, and laptop go in the cabin with me. Although of lesser value, they are prime theft targets.</p>

<p>Why do you need a monopod on board? (That's a question you are likely to hear from TSA.) From a practical point of view, it will fit nicely in your checked baggage. TSA may or may not allow you to carry it on board. If not, you will have to return to the check-in counter, retrieve your luggage and start all over again with Security. Do you feel lucky?</p>

<p>Keith, I travel with two tripods and a monopod, as well as a backpack full of camera gear. The pods always go in the checked bag. Period.</p>