I compared Eizo and NEC 30-inchers side-by-side!

<p>An electronics store near me had the Eizo Nanao FlexScan SX3031W and the NEC LCD3090WQXi on display, so I asked the salesman to set them up side by side and let me view some test photos on them. I'm interested in these two because I think they are the only 30" monitors (besides the much more expensive Eizo ColorEdge 30-incher) that rotate to portrait mode. For the record, I don't own an Eizo or an NEC and I am not biased in favor of either company. I just wanted to see which one looked better. Also, I am not a monitor expert, just an ordinary user.</p>

<p>We set both montors to Adobe RGB mode, native resolution, 100% brightness, and 6500K white balance. Both of them looked equally sharp. But it was pretty clear to both of us (me and the salesman) that the Eizo had a slight red-orange tint visible in light-colored areas, like light skin tones, light-colored walls, or an overcast sky. Blues (like clear skies or the ocean) also looked a bit dull or dirty on the Eizo, probably due to this red-orange tint problem. The NEC seemed to have a more natural-looking white balance, so light flesh tones and blue skies looked normal.</p>

<p>The second difference I noticed is that the Eizo seemed a little less bright than the NEC. Images with really bright areas, like a sunrise with the sun just peeking over the horizon, seemed a bit duller on the Eizo, while the NEC really let the brightness shine through. Also, details in dark areas (like the shirt pattern of a man standing in deep shadow) were easier to see on the NEC, while the Eizo was more likely to lose these details and show the area as just black.</p>