Why TLRs?

chi_siu1

<p>Hi everyone,<br>

After reading some posts about TLRs here led me to think why? I'm quite new to MF and chose Hasselblad because it's easier to use. Maybe there are advantages in TLRs that I don't know of. I always thought the composition is harder due to two glass, things look upside down and not many body can interchange lenses. Although I do think the TLRs are beautiful.</p>

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>Historically, the TLRs have been much less expensive than SLRs of the same format. Many pros used them for wedding photography and other uses where they wanted a quiet camera that produced a good-sized negative and was easy to use; the bright viewfinder compared to most SLRs also appealed to many of us.</p>

<p>Now that prices are more competitive, I have a good Hasselblad outfit, but I still keep an old Rolleicord around for fun!</p>

<p>Chi, the images are reversed on a Hasselblad as well, unless you have a prism finder (which, you could get on some TLRs). I like TLRs because they are usually quite rugged, easy to use, and intimate to use and compose with. They also carry very nicely on the shoulder. I'm going to stop there because I'll want to buy another one if I keep going.</p>

<p>I'm the same as Vick - Hassy for primary MF with Rolliecord as backup (formerly it was my primary camera). He covered the benefits so I won't repeat. <br>

Composition is the same between SLR and TLR IF using waist-level viewer. The image is laterally reversed (left=right; right = left) not upside down. It is only by adding a pentaprism that everything is not reversed. Pentaprism can be added to most TLRs also. So composing can be the same. composing on GG, however, isn't difficult. It just takes a little time to get used to the lateral reversal.<br>

I agree with you that TLRs are beautiful.</p>