Schneider G-claron 150mm

jimpete

<p> I often see this advertised on EBAY as an enlarging lens, which I guess it is, but am more aware of good performance for infinity landcsapes and close up nature photos from a lot of research on this site. Is this one and the same lens? Are there two different lenses for two different applications. I am thinking that it is one and the same. I am not familiar with enlarging lenses and not really interested in that, but more interested in a versatile light landscape lens that can do some close up as well. Thanks for any help. I am still learning large format. Jim </p>

<p>Clarons are process lenses, which are slightly different in purpose from enlarging lenses. Kelly Flanigan (who is no longer on this site) used to stress this point. OTOH, they're similar to enlarging lenses in that they are both optimized for short object distances.</p>

<p>There are at least two different kinds of G-Clarons, both process lenses. Lenses from the 1960s may have dagor-type design, and later lenses are plasmat-type. Look around on photo.net, on apug, and on the large format site for lots of discussion about this. There are also a couple of old G-Claron brochures buried somewhere on the Schneider website-- if you can't find these, email me and I'll send them to you. </p>

<p>Schneider says the G-Clarons can be used at infinity at f/22, and Schneider tends to be conservative, so this may be fine for your purposes if you can focus at f/9. It will cover 4 x 5 at f/22. I bought a 150 to take backpacking. It seems like a good lens, but I haven't used it enough yet to be able to make comparisons. </p>

<p>Schneider's enlarging lenses are the Componar and Componon series, and their variants.</p>

<p>The G-Claron is described in the Schneider Large Format Lens literature as:<br /> "A symmetrical, six-element large format taking lens particularly corrected for 1:1 linear magnification."</p>