Photos to paintings

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I'm new to the digital world, but have been using film cameras for a long time. This fall, our family picked up a Nikon D-60 as our first DSLR, and I would like to slowly begin the process of editing these photos, and having some fun. My goal is to begin with a few basic touch ups, like adjusting the white balance, etc. Later, I would like to try a few fun things, like turning selected photos into paintings.</p>

<p>Can someone point me in the right direction to learn more about editing digital photos. I'm not a pro, and after searching this site, I found many different threads about software and editing. But, since I'm late to the digital game, much of this is going over my head. Should I start off with Photoshop Elements, or is there another basic program that I should look into.</p>

<p>Is there a program out there that can turn photos into paintings? I've seen several photos on this site, and others that were changed from a photo into a painting. Is this a relatively easy process, with the right program, or is this some expert spending hours on end completely retouching the entire photo?</p>

<p>Again, please bear with me on these subjects. I've been a dedicated film shooter for years, and still enjoy using my old gear. But, as we begin to take more digital photos, I would like to enhance them when I need to, or play around and turn them into a painting if it is a reasonable thing for me.</p>

<p>Thanks again!</p>

<p>Jeff</p>