I'm a 35mm photographer who wants to acquire a 6x7 system in order to

make detailed, fine-gradation black & white prints, often of table-

top items (moderate close-ups), with some outdoor scenics and close-

ups; I'm not interested in 6x6, and I already have a 4x5. Also, I'm

not interested in a range-finder.

I know that lots of people have differing opinions, but I'm wondering

if there's any consensus as to whether Bronica or Mamiya has the

sharper lenses? Also, which specific normal-to-moderate-telephoto

lenses (for either camera) have the best reputations for sharpness.

Which are the more reliable bodies. Finally, if I'm not interested

in electronics, would an RB67 be just as good (but cheaper) than an

RZ67?

Thanks for any help.

I second the roll-film back for your 4x5. It will be much cheaper than buying a new system.

Now, if you want a somewhat compact, somewhat handholdable (6x7 SLR's are a bit bulky and heavy) camera that will give you a larger negative than 35mm, then a separate system is needed.

Luckily, each medium format system is good. And each medium format system has great lenses. And each medium format system has reliable equipment. It's all a matter of preference. Go to your local shop, and try out a Bronica GS series, a Mamiya RB/RZ67, and a Pentax 6x7. See which one suits you the best.

On a final note, if you have no interest in electronic features, an RB67 would suit you fine. However, the electronics do offer some useful features that you might miss down the road.