Digital Photography Help...

matt_m__toronto_

<p>i'm very new to the digital photography world. </p>

<p>can someone recommend a trusted site/method to get one going on the right foot in terms of processing images? (RAW editing, proper black and white conversion etc)</p>

<p>right now i'm 5d2 and aperture v2. photos that i've taken in RAW appear in my aperture program and i can edit, but i don't know if i'm taking full advantage of what RAW supposedly offers? is this where the DPP that i read a lot about comes in? help :)</p>

<p>thanks</p>

<p>As best as I can tell, each program has its own way of processing raw files and the only way to judge is to try as many as you can. I've used DPP, BreezeBrowser, ACDSee 2.5 Pro, LightRoom, Photoshop CS3, and DxO. Sometimes you know you want to do something special and one will do the job easier than others. LightRoom is a little harder to understand and use than DxO, but DxO is flaky about how well it will load into an operating system.<br>

However, now that I have a copy that works, If I want to batch process a bunch of simarly exposed images, especially any that have lens distortion of architectural elements that require correction, DxO is the one.<br>

If I have a bunch of dissimilar images, I can work fast by using the raw processor builtin to ZoomBrowser. If I want quick and dirty, I go to the processor in ACDSee. If I want to finetune and do several versions until I get exactly what I want, I use the Adobe version that pops up in CS3.<br>

Even Picasa has a basic editing program just available for Macs and it is free.</p>