Why I'm thankful for cameras

mark_sam

Just a Thanksgiving thought. I'm not a professional photographer. I once tried and made a few bucks. I'm fortunate to make a living

elsewhere and have a little money to buy decent equipment. I shoot for fun. I've shot for years, did some weddings, events for money, but

discovered that I actually preferred using pro's trying to make a living and paying them a fair wage. When I wanted to be a "pro" I found myself

noticing that their are so many talented photographers and when I compared my pictures with so many that seemed better, it discouraged me

and I lost enjoyment doing it. SO, what I've discovered is that I find the greatest enjoyment shooting pictures without telling my neighbors, etc

of their kids at their ball games, swimming pools, dance recitals and then printing them a few of the better ones. These are people who can't

and won't hire it done. It's just "daily living" memories. I am very aware of the concerns of privacy,etc. I give them the pictures with a CD and

for several years I have rediscovered the "joy" of shooting again. I'll leave the pro's to do the award winners. I just like seeing happy little kids

when they see their pictures. So, I am grateful for the digital revolution and the good things it can do. I appreciate all of your wisdom and help

when I need to turn to the experts. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

I've got some amazing photo's of somebody's cat from up the block: this big orange striped male cat, who come over for a visit to our yard every once in a while, putting our 2 fleabags totally on the defensive. To this day we're not sure *who's* cat it is, but if we find out, I'll be giving them a CD surprise.

Hmm, when I look back through the decades and decades of pictures of my wife and children and friends, I too am *very* thankful for cameras!

All the best to you on the (US) Thanksgiving. In Canada we had our's already: some nonsense about earlier harvest, not that I noticed ;)