light meter for bronica sq ai camera

steven_ches

just bought a bronica sq ai camera and I need or should i say looking to buy a light meter to take portrait pictures

outdoors but i havent aclue which light meter to go for as I am new to all this..if anyone could help me out on this

one any any info would be very greatful..again I mainly only want a light meter to take natural outdoor light portrait

pictures.

Thanks

anything that gives good esxposures :)) I use Gossen Lunastar F, it is 30 degrees reflective measuring + incident if needed. Some say it is too wide - well, it is good enough for me, very reliable, I do not need 1 degree spot meter t be honest. You can use old selenium meters but they are not reliable in very dark or very light or contrasty situations. People here will advise you to buy expensive Seconis 7xx for huge money - well, do you need one? I would say - no. Buy some decent lightmerter for 100 $ maximum off ebay, minolta III are decent ones, they are cheap on ebay as newer models are much more sought after. (having some minor upgrades as for me).

An incident light meter would probably be the easiest thing to use for outdoor portraits. FWIW I'm quite fond of my old Sekonic 428, although there are many choices. Many Gossen meters, although basically for reflected light, have dome shaped incident light attachments built-in, which work very well.

<i>"Many Gossen meters, although basically for reflected light, have dome shaped incident light attachments built-

in, which work very well.

"</i><br><br>That is because they are not "basically for reflected light". They are for both, and do indeed both

equally well. And as well as any other meter.<br>So anyone not knowing Gossen meters: do not think that incident

light metering is added to Gossen meters' capabilities as an afterthought.<br>;-)