Which lens i should use, If I'm new in Photography?

dost

Hi,

<br><br>

Iメm new this Photography World, Iメm enjoying and love Photography.<br>

My question is very simple and basic, might be many peoples asked before same type of questions, But please

solve my problem and do me a small favor regarding belowナ.<br>

<br>

Well just few days ago I have purchased Canon EOS 450D with EF-S 18-55 IS Kit and now Iメm planning to buy some

lenses.<br>

My question is: which lenses I should buy either Fixed Focal Length or Zoom Lenses and which one?<br>

Secondly which lenses are best for Macro?<br>

And finally, can anyone explain me Lenses numbers? What does it means? How can read and understand? i.e <br>

EF 100-300mm f/5.6L<br>

EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM<br>

And etc<br>

I hope it doesn't sound offensive, but with the questions you have right now, I would delay any investment into new equipment. Invest into a good book about the basics of photography, read, and while you're doing that, enjoy your new camera.

Shoot a lot. Figure out what you need more of. Maybe longer, maybe faster. Maybe wider?

If you really want to buy some glass, get the 50mm 1.8. Its very cheap, very fast and very sharp. The best value lens in the name of the game. And if you do portraits, its 75mm equivalent is indispensable.

Enjoy your new camera.

-- "which book i should purchase?"

Without knowing your native language a suggestion is really hard. (I could suggest something written in german ... but that would obviously not be overly helpful). Alot information can also be found in Photo.net's "learn" section.

Thanks to all for fast response and guidelines.

<br><br>

<b>Rainer T:</b>

<br>if you can suggest something in English, i'm surfing Photo.net Learning Section too.

<br><br>

<b>Galen Anderson</b> & <b>Stuart Deayton</b><br>

<br>Thanks for your suggestions. I'll do practice first, and then ask more questions later :)

<br><br><br>