Any Digital Photographers comtemplating a Leica M (Film) Body Purchase?

All;

I am a digital photographer D300, 24-70mm F/2.8 AF-S Nikkor, 70-200mm F/2.8G AF-S, 14-24mm F/2.8 G AF-S

etc. Pro Glass.

I also own a Nikon P5000 10MP compact digital. This camera is ok. In perfect lighting, not too big of an enlargement

etc.

I've owned Leicas in the past and really enjoyed them. I don't have any Leica glass anymore, but (perhaps I'm nuts),

I'm thinking about a Leica M6 or M7 (used). The only 35mm that I own now is a Rollei 35 (German) with the Tessar

lens.

Sometimes I just want to "go back to basics", if you know what I mean. I usew the Rollei when I want to travel light

and get good results, but it's no Leica. Also. it's becoming more difficult to get 35mm film developed by a decent lab.

Should I just save my money $$? Is there any merit to this? I'm not interested in an M8

Thanks

Brad

That's a question only you can answer. Here are some others to consider: Can you afford the entry fee? If yes, would you use it enough to justify the expense? Just how hard is it to get 35mm developed well where you are? Why did you switch to digital in the first place? Would you be happier putting your $$$ towards the new D700, which would let you use those lenses as Michio Kariya

intended?

I've occasionally regretted selling my Bessa R and all of its little Russian friends, and have thus pondered the same thing you are, only at a different price point (Fed 2s are pretty...) I just keep coming back to what I actually take pictures with vs. what I might like to take pictures with, and that comes back to my Canon 20d every time. But that's just me.

If Leica moves you, it can be very inspiring. I love my M6. Shoot the C-41 black and white films or color print or slide and scan at home. I recommend the Coolscan V. Oh, and get a good printer and monitor calibrator. I use the R2400 Epson and an X-rite I1 Display 2 calibrator. Enjoy!