SC-28 length modification

photobiscuits

Does anyone have any experience in modifying the length of the measly 3ft SC-28

cord? It seems a fairly simple process to chop this cable in half and then

splice another 10 feet or even 20 feet of wire in between the ends to have a

more usable length.<br>

Have any advice on any dangers to doing so? Does anyone know the maximum length

of Nikon Approved cable I can use between my D40's hot shoe and my SB600?

Called Nikon to ask but they're tight lipped about discussing modifications.<br>

I'd buy the transmitter and do away with wires altogether but they are expensive

so wires it is. Thanks.

I have not tried this. But i studied electricty in college. So, when you increase the length of your conductor, by adding extra wires, you are going to increase the amount of resistance (ie, Ohms), in the whole cable. That, in turn, will lead to slghtly higher voltage drop across the cable when current is running through ( E = I * R ). And I think that will result in your having slghtly less DC voltage levels at the flash contact points. Probably not enough to advsersley impact the flash operation, as long as all your Batteries are fresh and fully charged.

Make sure that the conductor wires that you insert are at least as thick as the ones in the original cable, or thicker, so that cable retains its full current carrying capacity. If I were doing it, I would solder the wire ends together, then cover the solder points with plastic screw-on caps, followed by black electrical tape.

If the cable was being used for digital transmission purposes, (ie, like a SCSI hard drive cable), you might introduce signal time delays into the transmission lines, and that might cause problems for hi-speed digital signals that are supposed to stay within certain clock cycles of each other.