28-105mm macro lens w/ extension tube ???

ptkeam

Hi,

I have a nikon 28-105mm macro zoom I use with a couple of D70's. It will produce

1:2 reproduction ratio @ 105mm and I'm really happy with it. In fact it's my single

favorite lens.

However, there are some times I'd like to get to 1:1 but I really don't want to

endanger my marriage by getting a 105mm VR macro nikon lens (you spent how

much for what??)

My question is -- has anyone ever used an extension tube with this lens?? I don't

see why it wouldn't work but I'd appreciate any input.

Thanks

I'm a beginner so hopefully some other people will chime in.

I've never used an extension tube on a zoom lens, let alone the one you are asking about so I'll just side-step the question.

I think an easier and less expensive route would be to use a close-up filter. I'm not sure if it will get you to true 1:1 though. Have you considered that option?

Maybe you could buy the 105mm macro and at the same time take your wife shoe shopping. New shoes solve most marital issues. :D

Best of luck!

You can get to 1:1 macro with a PN11. The PN11 give you a tripod connection which can come in very handy. This combo can give you good result. Here are the trade off

- With a PN11 you lose electrical connections. There go TTL flash and metering on a D70. But you can work with out it in macro. You can also use the Kenko 35mm tube with electrical connections for metering but you lose the tripod socket. Your pick.

- The working distant (filter ring to subject) is a bit short 1~2 inches. The 62mm filter size which cast a large shadow doesn't yield good lighting options.

- At 1:1, as good as the close up performace is for the 28-105 has some cyan and blue CA (color shift) at the edges. You can correct them with software still product good result.