Check this guy out

john_frie

I read so many times that one camera is better than the other or you can't do this with this camera

but can do it with another blah blah blah.

For one of the first times on these forums I stumbled across this person's portfolio and was so

impressed with his creative ability over all.

I am a trained commercial/fashion photographer and have see some of the greatest work to the

worst.I was so fortunate to have some of the finest portrait, commercial and makeup artists teach

me for many years. This person shows that you don't need the flagship cameras to get beautiful

results. He shot all of the things I saw with the EOS 300D.

Check it out.

http://www.photo.net/shared/community-member?user_id=2328099

J

I agree -- takes LOTS of time for the special effects you see in the referenced portfolio by the OP. Lots of time to set up the shots, light them, take them, and the post processing.

Given better tools any given good photographer will produce better results. The photog is more important than the gear and it does matter what gear you use, as YP just wrote.

"it does matter what gear you use, as YP just wrote."

Don't get me wrong everyone. I'm as much of a toy lover as the next person and

believe me I have a lot of toys. However with all of the cameras and experience I

find myself picking up my wife's Sony Cybershot H2 more than my own cameras for

the convenience. I have gotten some really beautiful 16 x 20 enlargements from this

camera.

My point is you can have great tools but if you don't have the creative abilities all

you'll get are really high quality bad shots.

You can have the best woodworking tools money can buy but without the creative

ability to make great woodworking all you really have are great tools. Don't get hung

up so much on the equipment. Bottom line is you can walk out into your backyard

and with very basic tools, spend the rest of your life finding great photos there. The