17-55 or 18-55 for what I shoot

dan_k6

I'm an owner of the 17-55 2.8. I'm actually thinking of selling the lens and

dropping down to the 18-55 for a few reasons.

1. My 70-200 2.8 produces some of my most eye popping work. At least that is

what I'm told.

2. I can't remember the last time I shot the 17-55 wide open. I'm always at F4

or smaller.

3. DOF/bokeh is not an issue with this focal length. Wide open the bokeh is

nothing spectacular.

4. I need the money. So holding onto a $1200 lens when you're not a professional

doesn't seem to be worth it.

5. The 17-55 is a beast of a lens. It looks cool but it's not something you

want to walk around with on your neck.

Would dropping down to the 18-55 be a bad idea? I'm not saying that magically

the 18-55 should be better but if it's pretty close then I'd like to sell the 17-55.

What are your thoughts.

I shoot mostly event work at the Church. I'm not a pro. I volunteer to do this.

I also want to use it for vacation snap shots, candid portraits, lots of stuff that the non-pro guys do.

I bought it on impulse 1 year ago. I always had a feeling that the 18-55 would do 99% of what this lens would do.

I'd consider the new <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/redirect.html?ie=UTF8&location=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.com%2FNikon-16-85mm-3-5-5-6G-Telephoto-Cameras%2Fdp%2FB0013A1XDE%3Fie%3DUTF8%26s%3Delectronics%26qid%3D1209320430%26sr%3D8-1&tag=uplandlife-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=9325" target="_blank"><b>16-85 VR</b></a>, since it allows you to get 2mm wider (which really counts on a DX sensor), is unquestionably a better lens, optically, than the older 18-55, and has the huge benefit of VR, which will help out a lot at f/4 in lower light interior spaces, like the ones you shoot.

Other lenses to consider, used?

Nikon replaced the 18-70mm with the 16-85, you can get the 18-70 for <$200 now,

there are tons on ebay.

Another option is, Tokina used to make a 19-35mm f3.5-4.5 which i own. I got mine for