Old film or bad processing?

I've had two rolls processed by the local Rite-Aid. They're not critical photos

by any definition; I just shot them around town for fun.

However, the majority of them have come back with lots of noise and pretty low

contrast.

Here's the question: since the photos were only for fun, I shot them on some

rolls of film which expired about ten years ago and were kept in a refrigerator.

I'm wondering whether these problems are caused by using old Kodak Gold Max 800

film or by bad processing? Or possibly both?

More generally, what are typical symptoms of bad film? Bad processing? I

generally shoot digital, so I'm new to this.<div>00PJeE-43179484.jpg.bdbefc8b2c5cdee707db759b6cc69f2b.jpg</div>

It's only recently that Kodak has made 800 speed color films with good keeping properties. It's not just chemical deterioration (which can be slowed by refrigeration or freezing), it's cosmic ray damage, and they've improved that in their latest Portra 800.

The graininess is probably both a symptom of the aging, and of the associated loss of film speed, which means you underexposed it as well.