Refurbished cameras?

Some are fine if you know what to look out for and get a good warranty. I always checked a variety of forums for typical issues with the camera and the outfit doing the refurbishing before purchasing. Even then I usually negotiated pricing beyond what the refurbisher advertised.

I'm not an expert but for what it is worth I've bought a few refurbed cameras as well as other refurbished equipment such as printers and computers. I can't say I've had any problems with any of it.

Most manufacturers test a relatively small sample of their new stuff before it goes out the door (unless your buying a car from GM or Ford, or software from microsoft in which case you get to be tester..) and then they statistically calculate whether the product's quality is varying within the limits of acceptance they've set up. So even there it is a crap shoot, but hopefully a controlled crap shoot, and the stuff that falls out is supposed to be caught by the warranty.

Refurbished and remanufactured products are returned goods that are either rebuilt to specs, or in the case of stuff that the original buyer just didn't like, the manufacturer inspects to make sure it works as it should. So the way I see it you get a more thoroughly inspected individual item with refurbs. The downside is the warranty is usually only 90 days. So it's kind of six of one half dozen etc.

Many of the refurbs are customer returns and packages show that they were opened. Most customers will not accept a re-pack as new so many stores can return them for a credit. There are some that were defective and rebuilt to new specs. I have had good experiences with my refurb purchases.

I have had very good fortune with refurbs from Kodak (DC5000, Z612), Canon (A530, A630)

Panasonic (LS2, LS75), Epson (Stylus Photo printers). They were all like new and warranted by

the manufacturers. You can save significant money purchasing refurbs, if you don't mind the