1 day of shooting in NY...where to go

ok, so i'm in NY this weekend and will have maybe half a day to walk around on

my own. i'm staying in the upper west side (broadway & 77th), so i'd like to go

somewhere not far away. note: this is my first time in NY.

also, if i could eat at one restaurant here that would change my life, what

would it be?

thanks

This is like asking where to go in NYC or where to eat there. Oh, wait you are asking where to go, and what to eat in NYC.

I would jump on a train (subway)and head downtown if I were you. Times square is very commercialized, and other than large scale architecture and signs, it could be any city. "Downtown" holds the secrets to old NY. There are neighborhoods and restaurants for every taste. But it would help if we knew what your tastes were.

I would ride the #1 train to South Ferry, and spend an hour on the ferry to Staten Island and return. This will give you a tour of the harbor, and a great perspective of Manhattan too. The bldgs seem to loom larger as the boat moves away from land.

After the ferry ride walk north east to Broad St and and up to Wall St. If you continue north east with help from a good street map. You can reach South Street Seaport, the Brooklyn Bridge walkway, Chinatown, and Little Italy. There is also a water taxi that will drive you to various points on Manhattan from South St. Seaport.

If you still have the strength you can walk or cab ride to the West or East Village.

Dinner? What do you like, and what do want to spend? Within your reach will be the best Italian, Chinese, Pizza, Steak, Seafood, French, Thai, Kosher Deli's, BBQ etc etc.

Here's are most menus in New York City:

http://www.menupages.com/

If you want to change your life, go to Masa, $400 prix fixe!

Cool hoods:

http://www.mta.info/nyct/maps/submap.htm