Ball Heads

deaner66

Hey Pentaxians. A quick question. I have an older, heavy duty tripod I snagged

at a antique shop. It has the normal size screw for the bottom of any camera.

And it has a large, flat plate that is also solid. They only problem is that my

K10 won't sit completely level on the plate. To get that, I must fiddle with one

of the legs.

I'm not an expert on tripods and ball heads. And I don't have a lot of money for

a new tripod. What I'm wondering is if a decent Ebay ball head will screw on the

plate and the standard size screw that fits the camera. Is that how a ball head

connects to the tripod?

Thanks for the help.

Steve

This little adapter will let you use any standard 3/8" tripod head. A good reasonably priced head is the Manfrotto 486. There are also a number of others that could do a fine job as well.

Check this link:http://cgi.ebay.com/All-Metal-3-8-inch-to-1-4-20-Tripod-Bushings-Set-of-2_W0QQitemZ360031211868QQihZ023QQcategoryZ30091QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQ_trksidZp1638.m118.l1247QQcmdZViewItem

All tripod heads screw fit using the same threads as cameras,....basically, either a 1/4inch or 3/8inch thread....

You may decide against a 'ball head' as they tend to be heavy/expensive to give adequate facility and offer poor function with modern cameras. A 'video' type of head such as a 'pan and tilt' will be much better in use especially with zoom lenses and if you use the cameras spot meter.....probably safer too.

Bob, I'm not sure what you are saying about the fit with heads. Having owned 10-12 tripod/head combinations over the years (and probably tested 2x as many more), all the heads used 3/8" screw as the standard to mount to the tripod. Only the cheap video camera (department store) heads used a 1/4" thread as the standard mount.